Forums Horror Collectibles
What Matters Most to You Bidites in Horror Land?

HORROR: We live it, we love it...we need it.

We are horror fans. We've seen it all, and if you haven't, you should. There is the mainstream alley of darkness along with the independent fathom of filmmakers. From good to bad, from low budget mayhem to million dollar masterpieces. There is a world of people out there who love the horror genre.

In this day and age, things have changed so much. We have seen the trantion from VHS to DVD to Blu-Ray to who knows what's next. Re-makes seem to be dominating the market along with 3-D.

As horror fans we constantly wonder what's next, or sometimes expect it. Fresh material for filmmakers is harder to come by each day partly because the amount of films being produced is through the roof.

So what's this article all about...You. The audience who just wants to t down and watch a horror film. I'm with you. As a filmmaker, I want to improve my skills and make better ones. But as a viewer, I just want to t down and watch a dang movie. It seems that fting through the pile is a regular task. Which ones are bad? Good? Do we trust the reviews that flood YouTube and personal blogs, or do we take a chance by getting a copy and tting down for approximately 90 minutes? Is there an alternative that Indie filmmakers should explore to present their films in order to let people decide whether or not to buy a copy?

What draws you into a film? The story, the characters, the SPFX, the weapon of choice, whether the killer is masked or not, a combination of all? Do we rely on existing clascs to satisfy our needs?

Or...has horror reached it peak. Is there nothing left but remakes or existing stories re-written just enough to qualify as something new.

It's a diabolical debate, and I'm curious to see how you, the audience, feels about today's world of horror. Don't be shy, it's an open discuson...it's your discuson.

written by: Lee Vervoort aka: aceofspades70