Forums Horror Movie Talk
Exclusive Interview: Simon Bamford on the 25th Anniversary of Hellraiser

A short while ago I had the pleasure of tting down (via skype) to chat with mon Bamford, who portrayed the Butterball Cenobite in 'Hellraiser' I and II as well as Onaka in 'Nightbreed.' Bamford, a very polite and funny man, is incredibly fun to talk to, as you can see below. You can find him at

http://www.monbamford.com and follow him at @monbamford on twitter.

http://i50.tinypic.com/qot63s.jpg" class="photoborder" /> Nat Brehmer/HorrorBid: How did you meet Clive Barker and become involved with the Dog Company?

mon Bamford: Um… I was doing a production of King Lear in London at drama school, actually, and Clive lived nearby and he ran a small fringe theatre company called The Dog Company at the time. He came to see the production of King Lear and asked to meet me afterwards. And then we got on very well and he invited me to join the company when I graduated. So I went straight from Drama School into the Dog Company. Doug Bradley was also in the Dog Company, Oliver Parker who went on to direct quite a few pictures and was obviously in Hellraiser and Nightbreed. As well. And then shortly after that disbanded, I called Clive out of the blue just to see how he was getting along. He said he’d had a couple of screenplays done into films that he was very unhappy with. And he persuaded them to let him direct the next one and he offered me a part in it. It was as easy as that.

HB: So that sort of answers my question of how you became involved with Hellraiser. Did you know at the time what character you would be playing?

SB: Not when I originally said yes. He said there would be some makeup involved. I think he did ask me if I was claustrophobic.

(connection flickers out here.)

HB: How did Clive differ from a theatre director to a film director?