Forums Horror Collectibles
Why Hairing a Mask Sucks!!!!

Ok,

Ever nce I took my first crack at hairing a mask I've had a new found respect for any artist who can pull this off and it look half way descent. Honestly, I've tried the spray adheve approach as well as hot glue and rubber cement.

All have given me Masve headaches.

I even put rubber cement in a squeeze bottle and only left the small pin hole in the cap open for a couple days .. . still too messy to work with.

Hot glue seems to work the best for me but then you can feel the lines in the scalp if it dries to thick plus you have to be super fast when laying the hair before the glue dries.

Hairing is by far the most stressful part of mask making (in my very limited opinion, and I am by no means a profesonal at it).

Sam, Casey, Justin, Sean, Nicolas and all the rest . . . I'm in awe of your greatness!! Anybody get this frustrated with hairing?
DaShape Friday 1/16/2009 at 12:32 AM | 32127
Anybody get this frustrated with hairing?

Yes! (that's why my NO Dead Guy refurb still has the Telly Savalas look)

lblambert Friday 1/16/2009 at 01:14 AM | 32139
it just takes time and patience i hate to say. After you have done it several times, it will get eaer and eaer. Just make sure if you use any kind of toxic stuff to ventilate as much as posble and wear a mask. If you think hair gluing is bad....try hand punching...now that....is something all unto itself.

take care, Tommy
Homicidal9 Friday 1/16/2009 at 01:39 AM | 32145
Anybody get this frustrated with hairing?

Yes! (that's why my NO Dead Guy refurb still has the Telly Savalas look)

Well for what it's worth I like it without hair....

kweandee Friday 1/16/2009 at 05:33 AM | 32178
If you think hair gluing is bad....try hand punching...now that....is something all unto itself.

Oh man Tommy I don't even want to image hand punching LOL.

I've haired about 10-12 masks and it's still just as frustrating as day one.